How Does Gemcom Hub Prevent Accidental Data Overwriting?
The Gemcom Hub™ data management solution can solve common data overwriting issues.
It enforces access rights to files.
- Some users may have access to files for reading, but not writing. They can pull the master copy of a file, but any changes they make locally cannot be placed back into the central server to become a new master copy and affect other users. A “single version of the truth” is always maintained on the server.
- Those with write access are able to push their changes back to the central server, creating a new master copy of the file. All other users, including those with only read access, are informed that there is a new master copy and can decide whether to update their local copy.
Hub features a file locking facility.
- This is important when two or more people are making changes to a file because it ensures that nobody wastes time making edits that could be lost.
- If a user intends to make changes, they can take out a lock on the file, marking the master copy on the Hub as locked. The lock and its owner will be visible to other users, and attempted changes by anyone else will be rejected.
- If the user is making edits while no longer connected to the network (e.g., working on an airplane), edits are made locally and when changes are synchronised, a lock is automatically taken out. There’s the chance other users will have made changes during the disconnection and the updates may be rejected. However, Hub always maintains the master copy along with a timeline of all versions.
To learn more about Hub, visit www.gemcomsoftware.com/hub.